Home / Blog / New GCSE Grading

New GCSE Grading

GCSE grading has changed – make sure that you understand your results.

On August 24th many of you will be receiving your GCSE results (make sure you read our results day guide) in a new format. Rather than the usual A* – F grade range you will now receive a grade from 9 – 1, with grade 9 being the highest grade that you can get.

GCSEs, particularly in English and maths are very important to your progression to higher level courses of study, entry to university and also for future employment. At the moment a grade C is the standard for many sixth forms, colleges and universities when it comes to accepting students onto A-level and other level 3 programmes as well as degree courses and you will need a minimum grade C (now grade 4) in maths and English for many jobs.

The new grading system has been introduced by Ofqual (Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) in order to better show the difference between pupil performance, particularly between the A*-C, or as it will now be, 9-4 grades.

The new system allows the old grades C and B to be covered by three grades – 4, 5 and 6, with grade 5 being equivalent to the top third of marks for an existing grade C and bottom third of the current grade B.

This change is expected to provide employers and educational professionals with a clearer idea of your potential and is intended to be helpful in identifying those learners who have achieved the grade required for progression, but who may still require some support in developing those skills further in order to achieve their potential.

Here’s how the new grading system maps across to the existing one

New GCSE Grading


About Lynette Daly

Lynette is the publishing editor of Moving On magazine. Moving On is devoted to helping young people make good choices for their future – education, qualifications and careers. Moving On really wants to motivate you! Our articles cover a range of topics to inspire and give ideas. Our magazines are delivered free to all schools, colleges and sixth forms in England and is also available online.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top