Home / Blog / T Levels The Sainsbury Report and Post-16 Skills Plan

T Levels The Sainsbury Report and Post-16 Skills Plan

t levels

In 2016 Government published plans for all young people be given two choices at 16, A-levels (the academic route) – followed by higher education (an undergraduate degree) and then skilled employment, or T levels (the technical route) – either an apprenticeship or college-based programme of technical education followed by higher level apprenticeship or higher technical study and then skilled employment.

The Post-16 Skills Plan

The Post-16 Skills Plan, published in July 2016, was an ambitious framework aimed at supporting young people and adults to secure a lifetime of sustained skilled employment and to meet the needs of our changing economy.

The Industrial Strategy

The recently published Industrial Strategy outlines Government commitment to this task through the following intentions:

  • Establish a technical education system that rivals the best in the world to stand alongside our world-class higher education system
  • Invest an additional £406m in maths, digital and technical education, helping to address the shortage of science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) skills
  • Create a new National Retraining Scheme that supports people to re-skill, beginning with a £64m investment for digital and construction training

The government are now seeking views on the development of new T-level programmes and how they should be designed to implement the Sainsbury panel’s recommendations.  

What are T Levels?

T Levels are not qualifications in themselves in the same way as individual A-levels are. T Levels is a term being used to describe the 15 technical routes that will be available. Within these 15 routes there are likely to be many qualifications, grouped according to the pathway.

Who are T Levels for?

T Levels will be for 16 – 19 year olds. So when you get to 16 – you will choose between the academic and the technical route.

When will T Levels be available?

After a series of delays, first teaching of T Levels is planned for September 2020. Not all T levels will be available at this time. Others will be introduced at later stages.

What will you be able to do T Levels in?

There will be 15 new technical routes, each of which will be designed in partnership with employers to make sure that they include learning and training in areas and skills which are needed in industry.

  1. The agriculture, environment and animal care route
  2. The business and administrative route
  3. The catering and hospitality route
  4. The childcare and education route
  5. The construction route
  6. The creative and design route
  7. The digital route
  8. The engineering and manufacturing route
  9. The hair and beauty route
  10. The health and science route
  11. The legal, finance and accountancy route
  12. The protective services route
  13. The sales, marketing and procurement route
  14. The social care route
  15. The transport and logistics route

Get involved in the consultation process here


About Lynette Daly

Lynette is the publishing editor of Moving On magazine. Moving On is devoted to helping young people make good choices for their future – education, qualifications and careers. Moving On really wants to motivate you! Our articles cover a range of topics to inspire and give ideas. Our magazines are delivered free to all schools, colleges and sixth forms in England and is also available online.

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top